top of page



Specks of Earth is a collection of choral miniatures that uses poetry from Tagore’s poem “Stray Birds”, a collection of 326 short poems.  These works capture Tagore’s observations and fascination with the simplicity of nature and life.  Vivid language elicits a burst of imagery that is translated into a tapestry of sounds.  The eighth movement “Fields” utilizes none of Tagore’s text, but instead features the piano in an expansive soundscape, while “Love” combines two of the poems to create a final declamation of love as the greatest of the observations in the world. 



I. Stray Birds (a cappella)

II. The Desert (a cappella)

III. O Sea, O Sky (SATB/piano)

IV. Leaves (SATB/flute/piano)

V. O Moon (SATB/piano)

VI. The Stars (a cappella)

VII. Shadow (a cappella)

VIII. Fields (SATB/piano)

IX. Love (SATB/piano)



Voicing: SATB, piano, and flute


Status: Published by ECS Publishing (Galaxy Music Corp.)


Premiered by Concert Chorale (Oklahoma State University)

bottom of page